Government of Yukon

Date adopted: 
December 11, 2019
Last update: 
May 4, 2021

Our preferred, formal name is the Government of Yukon and our informal name is the Yukon government (with a small “g”). Use “the” when you are writing our name in a sentence. Use our formal name for public materials.

Not: the Yukon Government, Yukon Government, Yukon government, Yukon Territorial Government, the government of Yukon
But: the Government of Yukon, the Yukon government

Avoid using just “Yukon” when you mean the Yukon government. There are many governments in Yukon so you can’t assume your reader will know whether you’re talking about the Government of Yukon specifically or all governments in Yukon collectively. (Only write “Yukon” when you’re referring to the territory itself.)

When you’re referring to more than one government or organization, give each one its formal name so that they’re given parallel treatment.

For example: The Government of Canada, the Government of Yukon and the City of Whitehorse signed the memorandum of understanding.

Never use an acronym for the Government of Yukon in public materials. Write the full name or, for example, just write “the government” or “we.” If you need to use an acronym internally, most staff use YG.

Not: YTG, Yg
But: YG (internally only)

Also see territory. guidance

Use the formal "Government of Yukon" name on for consistency. Otherwise follow the guidance above.