Government of Yukon

Date adopted: 
December 11, 2019
Last update: 
February 7, 2024

Our preferred, formal name is the Government of Yukon and our informal name is the Yukon government (with a small “g”). Use “the” when you are writing our name in a sentence. Use our formal name for public materials.

Not: the Yukon Government, Yukon Government, the Government of the Yukon, Yukon government, Yukon Territorial Government, the government of Yukon
But: the Government of Yukon, the Yukon government

Avoid using just the “Yukon” or when you mean the Yukon government. There are many governments in Yukon so you cannot assume your reader will know whether you’re talking about the Government of Yukon specifically or all governments in Yukon collectively. (Only write the “Yukon” when you’re referring to the territory itself.)

When you’re referring to more than 1 government or organization, give them parallel treatment.

For example:

The Government of Canada, the Government of Yukon and the City of Whitehorse signed the memorandum of understanding.

The governments of Yukon, Kwanlin Dün First Nation and Carcross/Tagish First Nation are developing a local area plan.

Never use an abbreviation for the Government of Yukon in public materials. Write the full name or, for example, just write “the government” or “we". If you need to use an abbreviation internally, most staff use YG.

Not: YTG, Yg
But: YG (internally only)

Also see territory. guidance

Use the formal "Government of Yukon" name on for consistency. Otherwise follow the guidance above.