Precedence (Table of precedence)

Date adopted: 
December 11, 2019
Last update: 
March 4, 2024

Use this order when you're quoting leaders in news releases:

  • Kwanlin Dün First Nation Chief Jocelyn Skookum
  • Health and Social Services Minister Jeremy Smith

Use this order when you're writing news releases or speaking notes or organizing events:

  • Governor General of Canada
  • Prime Minister of Canada
  • Commissioner of Yukon
  • Premier of the Yukon
  • federal Cabinet members
  • Speaker of the Yukon Legislative Assembly
  • Yukon First Nations Chiefs
  • Grand Chief of the Executive of the Council of Yukon First Nations
  • Ambassador or High Commissioner (Foreign) accredited to Canada
  • Justice of the Supreme Court of Yukon
  • Members of the Government of Yukon Executive Council (Cabinet)
  • Leader of the Official Opposition
  • Members of the Yukon Legislative Assembly
  • Member of Parliament for Yukon
  • Member of the Senate for Yukon
  • RCMP Divisional Commander
  • Armed Forces Commander
  • Judge or Justice of the Territorial Court
  • Heads of Consular Posts (Foreign)
  • Mayors
  • Government of Yukon Deputy Ministers and senior officials with the status of Deputy Ministers
  • presidents or executive directors of non-governmental organizations
  • Courtesy: Other dignified positions (such as former Commissioners or government leaders, current councillors, Elders)